Board Profiles

Agendas Minutes and Resolutions Board Meeting Schedule    

The Tollway has an 11-member board, including Governor Bruce Rauner and Secretary of Transportation Randall S. Blankenhorn who serve as ex-officio members. The Chairman and Directors are appointed by the Governor and serve four-year terms; no more than five of the members may be from one political party. The Board of Directors sets policy for the operation, maintenance and construction of the roadways.

The Tollway Board meets on the fourth Thursday of each month, except in November and December when meetings are a week earlier due to holidays. All Board meetings are open to the public.


Illinois Tollway Board Profiles

Bob Schillerstrom

Chairman Bob Schillerstrom is a partner in Ice Miller's Public Affairs Group. He has more than 30 years of experience counseling clients on matters relating to local and state governments, including community relations, public affairs and strategic public policy development, as well as real estate tax appeals issues and zoning related matters. Chairman Schillerstrom previously served three terms as chairman of the DuPage County Board. He earned a reputation for reducing property taxes, lowering county property taxes nine out of 12 years and consistently doing more for DuPage County taxpayers with less money. Chairman Schillerstrom has been an active figure in DuPage County politics for three decades, regularly holding leadership positions in local and county governments and in the Republican Party where he consistently advocated to reduce the cost of government. He earned his bachelor's degree at Illinois College and his law degree at Chicago-Kent College of Law. He lives in Naperville.

James J. Banks

Director James J. Banks was appointed to the Tollway Board of Directors in 1993. He is a co-founder and chairman of Belmont Bank & Trust, Chicago and brings to the Board his expertise as an attorney specializing in land use, real estate development and government entitlements.


James J. Banks, Director

Corey Brooks

Director Corey Brooks is the senior pastor at New Beginnings Church in Chicago working with private and public entities to affect positive change in his community. He founded the church in 2000 and leads a congregation of more than 2,000 members while overseeing a volunteer staff of nearly 70 leaders and 10 Directors, and manages a budget of more than $1 million annually. Additionally, he founded Project Hood, a community development organization where he still works as a key community activist. Director Brooks is a graduate of Ball State University, earning a degree in Political Science with a concentration in Public Policies and a graduate of Grace Theological Seminary, with a Masters of Arts degree. Additionally he studied law at the University of Florida and Theology at Dallas Theological Seminary. Director Brooks resides in Chicago.

Earl Dotson Jr., APR

Director Earl Dotson Jr. of Roscoe was appointed to the Illinois Tollway's Board of Directors in 2013. He also serves on the board of the YMCA of Rock River Valley. Director Dotson is the chief communications officer for the Rockford Public School District 205 and previously served as the deputy administrator and diversity officer for Winnebago County. He received his undergraduate degree in political science from Northern Illinois University. Director Dotson has an MBA from Rockford University. A U.S. Navy veteran, he served from 1988-1992 in the Persian Gulf during Operation Desert Storm.

Earl Dotson Jr., Director

Joseph Gomez

Director Joseph Gomez is currently the senior vice president of Byline Bank, where he oversees business development. Prior to that, he worked for the state of Illinois in the Department of Financial and Professional Regulation's Bureau of Banking. He was the Chicago bank managing director. He has also worked for the U.S. Department of Commerce as a financial consultant, helping develop the department's globalization program in China, Latin America and Canada. Director Gomez has also served on the Illinois Development Finance Authority under Governors James R. Thompson and Jim Edgar. Director Gomez earned his bachelor's degree from Southern Illinois University.

Joseph Gomez, Director

David Gonzalez

Director David Gonzalez is mayor of the city of Chicago Heights. He is a certified public accountant with extensive experience in municipal finance. He is a member of the Government Finance Officers Association. He previously served as superintendent and chief financial officer for the Chicago Heights Park District. Director Gonzalez serves as chairman of the Tollway's Audit Committee.

David Gonzalez, Director

Craig Johnson

Director Craig Johnson is the mayor of Elk Grove Village and has extensive experience in multimodal transportation. Director Johnson has served the citizens of Elk Grove Village since 1993. He was first elected as a village trustee and became mayor in 1997. He is currently an active member of the Mayor's Tollway Advisory Council and served on the Elgin-O'Hare Advisory Council. Director Johnson is also the chief executive officer of the Johnson Insurance Agency, which handles all forms of insurance policies. He earned his bachelor's degree from Northeastern Illinois University. He resides in Elk Grove Village.

James Sweeney

Director James Sweeney of Chicago, appointed to the Illinois Tollway's Board of Directors in 2011, assisted with the development of the Tollway's Move Illinois capital program. He is vice president of the International Union of Operating Engineers and president of Local 150 in Countryside.

James Sweeney, Director

Neli Vazquez Rowland

Director Neli Vazquez Rowland is the president and co-founder of A Safe Haven Foundation. She has a diverse background in finance, general contracting, social and economic development, along with extensive experience as a public servant. She brings more than 20 years of leadership and service to the Illinois Tollway Board of Directors and will add great value on advocacy and policy initiatives impacting the Tollway.

Neli Vazquez Rowland

Contact a Board Member

Director (Name)
Illinois Tollway
2700 Ogden Avenue
Downers Grove, Illinois 60515