



I-294 CORRIDOR PLANNING COUNCIL

September 15, 2015 – Meeting Summary

The second meeting of the Central Tri-State Tollway (I-294) Corridor Planning Council took place Tuesday, the September 15, 2015, at the Northlake Village Hall. Illinois Tollway Executive Director Greg Bedalov and Northlake Mayor Jeff Sherwin welcomed the Council followed by a call for public comments, of which there were none.

Rocco Zucchero, Deputy Chief of Engineering for Planning, led a brief presentation outlining the agenda for the meeting. Bryan Wagner, Environmental Policy and Program Manager, presented a recap of the first Environmental Working Group meeting that was held August 18, and Aimee Lee, Senior Manager of Strategic Planning, reviewed the draft guiding principles. After a discussion and some revisions, the guiding principles were adopted.

Council members were then broken out into small groups to discuss potential solutions and ideas to the issues and opportunities previously identified by Council members and stakeholders. These issues included: congestion, flooding and drainage, freight and freight diversion, system access, economic development, aesthetics, pedestrian and bicycle amenities, noise and technology. After a recap of the small group discussions, the meeting adjourned.

The next Corridor Planning Council will take place Thursday, October 15, 2015, at 1:00 p.m. at the Oak Brook Village Hall.

MEETING ATTENDEES

Greg Bedalov	Executive Director, Illinois State Toll Highway Authority
Paul Braun	Flossmoor Mayor, South Suburban Mayors and Managers Association
Benjamin Brockschmidt	Ex. Director, Infrastructure Council, Illinois Chamber of Commerce
Frank Grimaldi	City of Chicago Department of Aviation
Ken Grunke	Executive Director, West Suburban Chamber of Commerce and Industry
Pat Higgins	Western Springs Village Manager, West Central Municipal Conference – Central
Tom Kotarac	Deputy Executive Director, Policy and Programming, Chicago Metropolitan
	Agency of Planning
Kindy Kuller	Forest Preserve District of Cook County, Represented Arnold Randall, General
	Superintendent
Shirlanne Lemm	President and CEO, GOA Regional Business Association
Mark Pitstick	Regional Transportation Authority, Represented Leanne Redden, Executive
	Director
Sean McDermott	Countryside Mayor, West Central Municipal Conference – Central
Steven M. Morley	Elmhurst Mayor, DuPage Mayors and Managers Conference
Dave Moss	Illinois Trucking Association, Represented Matt Hart, Executive Director

I-294 Corridor Planning Council Meeting Summary

T.J. Ross Executive Director, Pace Suburban Bus, Represented by Mike Bolton

Jason Salley Illinois Department of Transportation, Represented John Fortmann, Deputy

Director – District 1

Jeff Sherwin Northlake Mayor, West Central Municipal Conference – North Central

Peter Skosey Executive Vice President, Metropolitan Planning Council

Chris Snyder Director of Transportation, DuPage County

David St. Pierre Executive Director, MWRD

Charles Tokar Chicago Ridge Mayor, Southwest Conference of Mayors

Russ Wajda Hillside West Central Municipal Conference – North Central, Represented

Mayor Joseph Tamburino

Matt Wells Mid-West Truckers Association Inc, Represented Don Schaefer, Executive Vice

President

John Yonan Superintendent, Cook County DOT and Highways

Asif Yusif Oak Brook Village, Represented Gopal Lalmalani, Village President, DuPage

Mayors and Managers Conference